Reflections among the ruins of religion

So in August, I spent a week in Indonesia to watch the Cardigans concert (sorry no cameras allowed, supposedly so I was unable to take photos there). Since I was going to this new country anyway, I decided to go for a quick visit at Yogyakarta to visit the Prambanan and Borobodur temples. While I don’t have any photos of the Borobodur temples (Buddhist), I have lots of the Prambanan complex (Hinduist).

Indonesia is the largest archipelago in Southeast Asia and it is also home to the highest number of Muslims. However, in Central Java, these ancient temples were erected by communities that practiced different faiths and at such close proximity! So I’m thinking that perhaps Central Java may have lived in peace amidst religious diversity. I just wish that our contemporary society could live in such peaceful times as well.

Oh well, it’s a Saturday, so it would be best if I just go out and drink with friends šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

