Foray into Rice Farming

And they sang about how planting rice is no fun!

And they sang about how planting rice is no fun!

As that song goes, they claimed certain things about rice farming, and I beg to disagree. Rice farming is difficult but it is quite fun!

So I’m undergoing this training to do rice farming as with a few other staff in the office. It’s a season-long training program which means it will last several months (six months, if memory serves me right). So we’ve been doing it for quite some time now, and as you can see, the fruits of our labor are growing on the seedbed you see here. However, what you see is not the last of it. We’re only preparing the seedlings that we will transplant onto the bigger field that you see in the background.

I guess what’s fun about it is I get to know the people I work with in the office so much more. We get to joke around and laugh over the things we do. Of course, the inexperienced get more than the usual ribbing from the others but that’s part of the fun. Also, I get to see how hard-working they are, and of course, there’s always a healthy dose of friendly competition! 🙂 Yeah, the class was basically split into two groups and since we’re basically doing the same thing, it is easy to compare how one team fares over the other. As of now, I think our team is the team that has made the most mistakes! 😀

I don’t know if I should be alarmed because I still don’t know much about rice farming and that I don’t know how big of an impact the mistakes we make today will have on our harvest a few months from today. I shall keep you posted! 🙂

Leave a Reply

