On the Whims of God

image

I have yet to finish this novel but some of the greatest sections of this includes the outpouring of Ivan to his younger brother, Alyosha, and the teachings of the elder Zosima as translated by Alyosha.

I feel that these two sections answer each other and that the earlier conversation cannot be understood withoit the latter discussion and that Zosima’s principle teachings cannot be understood without hearing the first.

Without spoiling much of the contents, I find myself reevaluating my definition of freedom, purpose, faith, and the overall human condition.

I look forward to writing more as I finish the book!

Leave a Reply

