Being a Graduate Student

Meet my classmates in Anthro 270

Meet my classmates in Anthro 270

This is my third semester in the graduate studies program for Anthropology in Diliman. It took me 4 years before I decided to take it seriously and get myself enrolled. Regardless of the many people advising me to just go ahead and do it, I always put it off mainly because I was over thinking the entire thing. So if you are second guessing whether to take your masters degree or not, I would like to help you by sharing my own second thoughts and the reality that was not so intimidating after all.

1) It would cost too much. The financial burden was a major concern for me, that I may not be able to afford it. Thankfully, the program that I enrolled in does not cost too much per unit…and even if it did, because it’s a graduate program, the requisite number of units per semester (12 units is already considered “overloaded”) is not as big as an undergraduate program (where 15 units is the minimum for a regular load for each semester). Yes, the cost per unit is actually more expensive than when I was in undergrad, but ultimately, the total cost of matriculation will not be as expensive as the tuition fee your parents paid for when you were an undergraduate student. Also, please take note that I’m currently enrolled in a state university, so yes the cost of each semester is subsidized so I really don’t pay too much.

2) I might not be qualified due to my lack of work experience. Well, honestly this thing never really came up haha!

3) I might not be able to manage the burden of working and studying at the same time. Well, I guess I am fortunate enough to work in an environment where I can be allowed to leave the office when I have classes that I need to attend to…but then again, so are many of my other classmates who are working and studying at the same time! It really is just a matter of clearing it up with your supervisors and agreeing to compromise. I don’t think any employer would begrudge their employee from gaining new skills that they can further exploit for their own gains! Then, of course, finishing your office work and your school work is your responsibility.

4) It may be too late now, I’ve put it off for too long. Well, it will only be too late if you don’t go ahead and just do it!! And you’ll never know, you may be having the time of your life. Just look at how happy we are up there, that’s our “wacky” class photo.

That's me on the far right. And yeah, this is the more decent shot.

That’s me on the far right. And yeah, this is the more decent shot.

I’ll add more as I think of other things. Right now, it’s the season to rush, rush, RUSH! 🙂

Leave a Reply

