A trip to the local watering hole

Young girl at the local watering hole

Young girl at the local watering hole

On my second field site for research, my local guides (two lovely young ladies) decided to treat me by taking me to the local watering hole after all the interviews have been conducted. They planned everything: from the place we were going to the food we were taking. And even the unplanned parts of the day were just as perfect: particularly, just us three young girls singing on the karaoke machine at high noon. These are just some of the memories that I will treasure of my field work experience. Honestly, these warm human moments in research are also what compels me to do the kind of research that I do.

Leave a Reply

