New horizons to pursue

A lone fisherman stands on his boat at sunset near the coves of Calatrava, Romblon

A lone fisherman stands on his boat at sunset near the coves of Calatrava, Romblon

As of January 2015, I have been professionally relocated (after a brief respite of professional homelessness) from Laguna to Nueva Ecija. It has been over three months and I must say that the experience, is different. Not to say that it is worse or better, just not what I was used to from before.

Readers of this blog and those who are familiar with my life know that I relocated from Manila to Baguio in pursuit of higher education the from Baguio back to Manila while I evaluate my career then packed my bags and shipped myself off to Boracay only to once more move my entire life from the island to the inland delights of Laguna.

I have been recently involved in the world of museums…something that may have been a natural progression of being so immersed in the field as to need a resting place for my weary arse. Alas, I found that I have yet to fully sow my wild oats (or rice, as the staple may be) in the great Unknown and found these past three months of (being almost exclusively) housed in the office of the museum has been limiting at best. The best part about this new move is that I have found a small niche with like-minded (anthropology) fellows like myself. Of course, I need to mention my friend Gershwin who has been indispensable to my adjustment to the new environment.

However, another new quarter (new contract) begins and I find myself optimistic that things will soon look up. I am expected to visit Isabela, one of the few provinces in the north that I have yet to explore. That will happen some time this month, I expect.

Leave a Reply

