Meeting at Three Points

In one of the most hassle-free photo-“walk” sessions organized, this very basic introduction to setting up a photography studio using the “Three-Point Technique”. So with our teachers, Paul Torrente and Peter Panelo (for lighting), we got a handle of the basics. When I mean basics, it’s enough for you to get by so that you can soon learn to find your own style. And there are some very practical tips shared not only by our instructor, but by the rest of the group.

 

_DSC1021

Our Master Pol, looking derpish with Peter in the background showing being more professional.

First thing I noticed, it requires a lot of props. I mean a lot! We’re talking about triggers, additional flash, strobe lights, reflectors, and stands. The entire setup that we had for the workshop was the majority of the sum total of all worldly possessions owned by Paul. It was crazy! But without further ado, we got down to talking about the equipment one by one-ish with Peter showing us how it is operated. We first set up the rim (or back) light, then we put in the key light, lastly we play around with the fill light to see which works best.

170408-3Pt-Portrait

Rim light. Key light. Fill light. Three-points of light meeting to land on the model.

We worked in rotation with some of us working behind the camera, sitting as a model, being the light assistant or just watching the process. It was really interesting to see how people came up with their own styles and stuff. Of course, being the kind of photographer that I am, I will always be more interested with capturing the facial expressions of people and I wanted the light to be my ally in this quest. My model is Clarissa Escasinas. She’s another colleague of ours who claims to be a little bit untutored and lacked practice compared with the rest of us, but her shots are great too! I will put a link here when it’s already up.

I guess you can tell which expression I loved the most! Hahaha!

So after everyone took a turn at taking their shots, Paul taught us the basics of editing using Photoshop. The “Frequency Separation Technique” is often used by magazines to iron out the *flaws* while retaining a more *human* look rather than the flat, overly Photoshopped look. So I admit that I have no experience in doing this, but I was more than willing to try. Below is my take on the editing technique.

So the image with my watermark is the raw image (before) and the image to its right is my attempt at the editing technique. What do you think?

So I’m a bit more excited about our next adventure into photography (next month) because it will look into using strobe lighting outdoors during daylight hours. So it’s about negating the sunlight and creating your own key light. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

